





THE AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL UNIVERSITY ANU COLLEGE OF ASIA AND THE PACIFIC L'UNIVERSITÉ DE LA NOUVELLE-CALÉDONIE (UNC)

THE FRENCH GOVERNMENT

PROFESSOR DARRELL TRYON RESEARCH SCHOLARSHIP

CONDITIONS OF AWARD (2017)

1. INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this scholarship program is to honour the memory and continue the academic legacy of Professor Darrell Tryon, an eminent scholar of the Australian National University who devoted a distinguished research career to the languages and peoples of the Pacific and who was a great friend of France.

The parties collaborating in this program are:

- The Australian National University (ANU) (a "host university").
- L'Université de la Nouvelle-Calédonie (UNC) (a "host university").
- Republique Francaise (the "French Government").

This program of exchange is undertaken under the Memorandum of Understanding entered into by the host universities in 2007 which provides at section (b) for qualified students to pursue short-term programs of study at each other's institution.

The program will enable one PhD scholar from each host university each calendar year to spend a consecutive period not exceeding 3 months at the other institution undertaking doctoral study towards the completion of their PhD degree.

2. VALUE

- 2.1 The French Government will provide the scholar with one airfare from their home institution to the host university at the commencement of the program and one airfare from the host university to their home institution at the conclusion of the program.
- 2.2 For the duration of the program on an annual basis, the host university will provide the scholar with the following benefits:
 - (a) On-campus residential accommodation at no charge. If the scholar elects to take up off-campus residential accommodation for all or part of the program duration they must do so fully at their own expense.

- (b) A monthly stipend equivalent to 1,000 Euros at the time of the exchange paid in accordance with the scholarship policies of the host university.
- (c) Office facilities in accordance with host university policies on support for visiting researchers.

3. ELIGIBILITY

The scholarship shall be available for award each year to a student who:

- (a) Is enrolled as a PhD scholar in good standing in their home institution;
- (b) Has completed a minimum of 12 months equivalent full-time of their PhD enrolment;
- (c) Is undertaking research in any of the fields of study belonging to the Social Sciences and Humanities, including the Arts. Preference will be given to PhD scholars working on topics related to the Asia-Pacific region including Australia; and
- (d) Is able to travel to the host university at the time agreed for the duration of the program.

4. APPLICATION

Applications will open in 2017 in the last week of April 2017 and close on 31 May 2017, for the program to be undertaken in 2017

Applications will consist of:

- (a) An online application form incorporating a concise statement of the research the applicant proposes to undertake at the host university.
- (b) A statement of support from the applicant's principal supervisor at their home institution.
- (c) A copy of the applicant's curriculum vitae.

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

5. SELECTION

An annual selection process will be undertaken after the closure date each year, for selection of the PhD scholars to undertake the program in the following calendar year. The Selection Committee will consist of:

- (a) Two ANU representatives nominated by the Dean of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, with one of these representatives being the Director of the EHESS@ANU program.
- (b) Two UNC representatives nominated by the President of the University of New Caledonia, with one being the UNC Vice-President for Research.
- (c) One French Government representative, being the Conseiller de coopération et d'action culturelle, Ambassade de France en Australie.

The Selection Committee will rank the applicants on the basis of academic merit and research quality, and the capacity of the host universities to support the research programs nominated by the applicants. The first-ranked applicants from each institution will receive a scholarship offer, with the order of merit to serve as a reserve list in the event that an applicant is unable to accept an offer.

6. TENURE

The program is for a maximum of 3 consecutive months, with the timing agreed between the host university and the PhD scholar from the other institution when a scholarship offer is accepted.

7. REPORTING

Upon completion of the research and return to the home institution, the scholar must provide a short report on the experience (500 to 1,000 words).

8. TERMINATION

The scholarship will terminate upon completion of the 3 month program and return to the home institution. The scholarship will terminate if the recipient does not adhere to the Tenure Clause or does not complete the proposed research.

9. PUBLICITY

It is anticipated that recipients of the Professor Darrell Tryon Research Scholarship may be requested to participate in publicity of the scholarship from time to time. Recipients may be contacted for an interview and photograph. The universities may also publicise the grants by publishing the names of the recipients. Arrangements for such publicity will be made through the marketing and communications offices of the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific and the Université de la Nouvelle-Calédonie.

10. TAXATION

Scholarship recipients are responsible for seeking taxation advice regarding their own individual circumstances.

11. DISCLAIMER

The award of a scholarship does not carry any commitment by the universities for future employment.